Too young…

13 Jun

I have this fantasic feature on my email account which enables me to follow all my favourite blogs in one reader… Its my favourite part of the day when I get to check it, to see who blogged what. Today I was pleasantly surprised to find that one of my favourite bloggers/authors blogged on a topic that I have some experience in… GETTING MARRIED YOUNG!!!

alfino

For those who know me, you’ll know, I was 19 when Chris proposed, but it took about 2 years for us to get married, due to some difficulties which are for a later post… We finally tied the knot on 30 November 2007, only 11 days after my 21st birthday!

Seeing as my love is only 3 months older than me, you can imagine that we experienced numerous challenges from people who felt that we were mad to get married so young. But this post just affirmed for me, that its normal. Added to which, at least half my married friends were under 23 when they got married, and some have kids now. Its not abnormal… I think its just how our Lord intended.

However, I think we are still a tad confused about our roles in marriage, as man and woman… Which is why I plan to work on a post about this… In the meantime, ladies, try and get your hands on Radical Womanhood by Carolyn McCulley. I’m busy reading it, and its a great book to break the traditions of feminist thinking.

PS. Check out this link for some more comments/answers to the whole “how young is too young” debate….

Image courtesy of Cindy & Seth Alfino

Leave a Reply

