Putting myself out there

30 Jun

This is going to be a short post… I would just like to get some advice or insight from my readers.

857597_girl_on_stairs

Are there any ladies out there that work outside the home full time, and still come home to be homemakers? How do you manage to get to the chores? Do you have cleaning services? What do you do when you get so drained that you can’t be bothered to get up? I’m putting myself out there and saying that I can’t do this… I’m struggling, maybe selfishly, but I can’t get up at 5:30am and go to work, only to come home to cook, clean and go to bed only to start the whole thing again. We cannot afford for me to stay at home yet, but I don’t know what to do. Pathetic I know. Ladies, I trust you to be honest with me, and I would love your wisdom in this.

4 Responses to “Putting myself out there”

  1. TamraGirl June 30, 2009 at 16:44 #

    I don’t work outside the home full time, but I did at one time (before children) and I have several friends who do even with children.. Just had a conversation about it w/ one recently, in fact. Something we were mulling over is that a woman who is caring for a home and working a full time job outside the home is bearing the burden of 2 curses. Our burden thru Eve is real and it is difficult, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that to add Adam’s burden to the mix can be simply crushing. I have a lot of compassion for women in that place.
    So I don’t think you’re crazy to feel drained. You’re bearing double burdens right now. Take that into consideration before you’re too hard on yourself!

  2. D'Rae June 30, 2009 at 21:41 #

    I work full time outside of the home, attend school as a full time student and keep the home and attend to my hubby. (no kids yet.) I clean on Saturdays. I do pick up and tidy each evening after dinner, but I do the major cleaning and straightening on Saturdays.

  3. Kristin July 3, 2009 at 18:02 #

    Awww, Liz! I feel your pain!
    I have been working full time for the three years I’ve been married (no kids yet either) and at times I was also going to school. I know exactly what you mean that you feel that it is just too much. Here are my suggestions, although none will solve the problem they might ease it.
    -prioritize….only do the essentials on most days
    -cook simple meals instead of elaborate ones…less prep time is more time to do other things
    -use a weekend day for real cleaning (like D’Rae suggested) and just do pick-ups throughout the week
    -talk to your hubby about it…if he knows that you’re feeling burdened he will likely try harder to keep messes from occurring in the first place
    -clean as you go…for example, wipe down the bathroom counter while you brush your teeth in the morning, or clean the kitchen surfaces while waiting for water to boil
    -Take a night off! Establish one night a week that is just for the two of you to spend time together…put off housecleaning until the next day

    Hang in there, Liz! You can do it!!!
    -Kristin

    • Lizanne July 4, 2009 at 09:50 #

      Thanks all of you ๐Ÿ™‚ I appreciate the support, and advice. I have been doing the cleaning on weekends, but I think its often too much, as I don’t really do much tidying when I get home from work (often at 6:30pm). We live on a farm, so there’s permanent dust and mud in the house. But you know what, I will do it ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

