30 Day Husband Encouragement: Day 5

8 Sep

1076533_34818265

Day Five:

“Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers.” Eph. 4:29

Another way to describe the positive side of this “30-Day Encouragement Challenge” is by using the word “edify,” which means, “to build up.” Negative comments only discourage and tear down. Positive comments encourage and build.

Do you edify your husband before others, adding to his value in their eyes? This is especially important to other family members. Do you praise your husband to his relatives, and yours? Does your husband’s mother know how much you love him? How about your dad? Perhaps you can drop a word of praise into a conversation or letter. Be creative in letting your relatives know that you respect your husband, love him, and support him – in spite of whatever flaws and weaknesses he may have.

2 Responses to “30 Day Husband Encouragement: Day 5”

  1. Tyra September 8, 2009 at 19:12 #

    Hey! I finally got around to posting about this on my blog. It’s a little wordy since I wasn’t planning on posting every day so you’ll have to excuse the length. 🙂 Thanks once again for the idea. Please pray that I’ll put it to good practice in my marriage!
    Hope you have great day.
    Oh, and by the way what’s your accent like? I met some people from South Africa when I was at a international christian school competition in high school(just a few years ago..lol)and thought they talked so neat! 🙂 Just wondering if you’ve lived there all your life and would sound like that. (trying to kinda put a voice to the words I guess)
    It’s been nice ‘meeting’ you! Talk to you again soon hopefully.

    • Lizanne September 8, 2009 at 23:52 #

      Thanks for linking up Tyra 🙂 its been great meeting you too. I hope that this challenge will make all our marriages more blessed.

      About the accent, I was just saying today that I think our accent is flat. I’m not a fan, but I’m a born and bred South African. Never been outside of Africa in my life. The accent is there. I do pick up other people’s accents tho, if I spend too much time with them. Maybe one day I’ll do a video post so everyone can hear my accent… Though I can promise you, its not that cool. Have a blessed day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

