Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

17 Sep

78221_skirt

A friend said something on twitter just now that made me think. She said that her friend needs help because she feels worthless and unappreciated. How true of many people today? We’re overworked, underpaid, we live a repetitive routine day in day out. Its easy to feel worthless and unappreciated. I tried to think of something clever to say to her, to make her friend feel better, but after thinking long and hard, the words did not come. All I could think of was Psalm 139.

For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,
your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me
were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
Psalm 139:13-16

I love that Psalm, the idea that God knit our cells together, and knew our names before our parents even knew we existed. How can you feel worthless when the King of the Universe created you and knows you and loves you. He longs for you to know Him, He has so much love and grace to give you, to make you feel wanted, accepted, loved. All you need to do is accept His invitation. All you need to do is run to Him, like a child into the arms of her Father. God wants to give you all the riches of His kingdom. Its within reach, all you need to do is hold onto His hand and trust Him. He will never let your foot slip, or let you fall. He will keep you sheltered in the storms. You may feel the effects of the storm, but it will not break you, if you are in the love of God.

It fills me with such joy to know that I serve this God. The Creator and Sustainer of the Universe. That no matter how alone, and unappreciated I feel, He will lift me up to glory. He is my Best Friend, my Father, my Saviour, my Rock of Ages.

My prayer today is that He will use me, and you, to glorify him. That He will use me to serve him, and to find and love his sheep. I pray that those of you who know His grace, will share in this joy with me, and reach out to those who don’t.

2 Responses to “Fearfully and Wonderfully Made”

  1. Stacey September 17, 2009 at 09:49 #

    Such an awesome post… and thanks 🙂 I’m sure this will lift my friend’s spirits 🙂

  2. annaldavis September 17, 2009 at 18:13 #

    Thanks for this post– I love that passage. Feeling worthless happens to all of us I think. She needs lots of prayer cover now as the enemy loves to steal our God given joy and effectiveness in this way.

Leave a Reply

