What was I made for?

16 Oct

1228669_sing_a_new_song_4

“And even the rocks cry out
And even the Heavens shout
At the sound of His holy name
So let every voice sing out
And let every knee bow down
He is worthy of all our praise

You and I were made to worship
You and I are called to love
You and I are forgiven and free, yeah
You and I embrace surrender
You and I choose to believe
You and I will see, you and I will see”

Made to Worship – Chris Tomlin



What do you think you were made for? Were we made to just live for 80 years and die? Or to have as much fun as possible till we die? In truth, we were created in God’s image, to give Him glory. To worship Him, and make Him known to all the world.

Is that not the greatest purpose? What can be more amazing than being able to give glory to our Creator? But how do we do this, is it just through singing and making music? We should be giving God glory in our everyday life, at work, at school, at home, and at church. We often think that we can just be Christian at church or with our church friends. I am often guilty of not acting as a child of God at work… When the pressure is on, I forget that I am still His ambassador, and as such I am to make His name great. But when I use bad language and treat colleagues badly, I just bring Him shame. When I talk behind someone’s back, I hammer the nails into His hands. When I lie to clients to cover for my boss or colleagues, I insult His glory.

I want to live a life of worship to my King everyday… as the song goes: Everyday its You I live for, Everyday, I’ll follow after you.

What greater purpose can there be?

Leave a Reply

