Because of Christ, I am clean

11 Mar

Last night we went to listen to Pastor Mark Driscoll from Mars Hill Church in Seattle, speaking about the cross of Jesus, the crux of our faith. It was the most simple and yet awesome way the crucifixion has ever been explained.

The medical/scientific facts of what God’s Son endured on his way to the cross, the excruciating pain of having his flesh ripped off his back, and his chest cavity crushed.

To have his heart punctured from falling whilst carrying a cross… to die for us.

How much love must it not have taken to keep quiet, to walk to the Place of the Skull, Calvary to be nailed with huge train spikes through your hands and feet. To feel your Father forsake you for the sin you carry.

How much love… how amazing…

The band sang this song, one which we’ve sung in church time and time again, but this time the meaning was so much clearer. THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO TO DESERVE WHAT JESUS DID FOR US! NOTHING WE CAN GIVE HIM THAT COULD JUSTIFY WHAT HE DID, HE PAID THE PRICE, SUCH A MINDBLOWINGLY HUGE PRICE. He gave his life, he suffered torture, mocking, slander, humiliation, beating, crucifixion, for you and me. All He asks in return is that we love and follow Him, that we take up our cross (pretty small ones in comparison), deny ourselves, and follow Him – the true Saviour. He died this gruesome ugly death, he was marred beyond human likeness.

I will offer up my life in spirit and truth
Pouring out the oil of love as my worship to You
In surrender I must give my every part
Lord receive the sacrifice of a broken heart

Jesus, what can I give
What can I bring
To so faithful a friend
To so loving a king
Saviour, what can be said
What can be sung
As a praise of Your name
For the things You have done

Oh my words could not tell
Not even in part
Of the debt of love that is owed
By this thankful heart

You deserve my every breath for You`ve paid the great cost
Giving up Your life to death, even death on a cross
You took all my shame away, there defeated my sin
Opened up the gates of Heaven, and have beckoned me in

What can I give
What can I bring
What can I sing as an offering, Lord
(What can I give
What can I give to You, to You)

A very good friend sent me a message earlier this week to read Isaiah 53: 1-12, its the prophecy of the crucifixion.

3 He was despised and rejected by men,
a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering.
Like one from whom men hide their faces
he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

4 Surely he took up our infirmities
and carried our sorrows,
yet we considered him stricken by God,
smitten by him, and afflicted.

5 But he was pierced for our transgressions,
he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was upon him,
and by his wounds we are healed
.

6 We all, like sheep, have gone astray,
each of us has turned to his own way;
and the LORD has laid on him
the iniquity of us all
.

It really blows my mind, that Jesus was spotless, blameless, and He died for me… I am not the worst sinner, I suppose, but I swear, I lie, I think bad thoughts, I murder in my mind, I mock, I drive nails into His palms on a daily basis, and I give him a smelly sin-soaked cloth as an offering, and He smiles down at me and forgives me. It is beyond my comprehension and ability to understand this sacrifice. But I am thankful, so deeply grateful that He was willing to take my sin, so I no longer have to carry it to the grave, so that I can rise up and stand in front of the Creator and King of the Universe and say “Because of Christ, I am clean”.

One Response to “Because of Christ, I am clean”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marriage and Women « Clay Jar People - March 18, 2010

    […] been listening to Mark Driscoll’s (from Mars Hill Church in Seattle) talks this week. As per my post from last week, he’s a very effective and godly preacher, and I have found these talks very encouraging and […]

Leave a Reply

