Attempt Number 5091…

6 Aug

Ok that’s over exaggerated… But this is going to be my umpteenth attempt at going sugar free. A friend on Facebook had as her status this morning: “Have decided to try going gluten, sugar and dairy free.” Which mad me think again about how much healthier and more energised I felt when I was sugar free. It was very difficult, but totally worth it. I love sugar – and chocolate, and white bread… oh me oh my… BUT I really want to get healthy again. In truth I have let myself go a bit since the start of this pregnancy, so its time to get my act together. Sugar is bad for baby anyway, so why am I stuffing my face with it?


source

The scary thing is that there is sugar in EVERYTHING, even things which aren’t meant to be sugary have sugar in them… I mean how much sense does that make? I’m lucky that being home, I can control my sugar intake more, as there aren’t the temptations of other people’s yummy lunches and all… But I am also a huge baking fan… muffins, cupcakes, brownies… etc…And well, my brownies are sugar-heaven. So to start with I am scrounging up all the recipes I can find that are sugar free – and frugal! Thats a big thing too! I found this brownie recipe this morning on Naturally Knocked Up… and intend to try it at the next celebratory event… with some practical tweaks of my own. Oh, its gluten free too… which is a bonus, even though I am not going that route yet.

Healthy Grain Free Brownies
2 cups black beans (or 1 can of no salt added) [i’m going with butter beans – don’t think we even get black beans here]
3 lightly beaten eggs
1/3 cup melted coconut oil (or melted butter) [butter it is]
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup honey (or other equivalent sweetener)
1/2 cup chopped up bittersweet chocolate (or semi-sweet chips if you don’t mind the added refined sugar in them)
1/3 cup finely chopped walnuts -optional [no nuts for me]
Making these could NOT be simpler. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease an 8×8 pan. Toss all but the final 2 ingredients (the chopped up chocolate and walnuts) into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Fold in the chopped chocolate and walnuts. Pour into the pan and bake for about 30 minutes.

I will let you know on my OTHER blog how it went and it the tweaking worked…

WHO’S GOING TO JOIN ME???

5 Responses to “Attempt Number 5091…”

  1. Tandy August 6, 2010 at 10:34 #

    I have been on a 99% sucrose free diet for nearly 20 years now – good luck!

    • Lizanne August 6, 2010 at 10:56 #

      Thanks Tandy – I did it for about a year when I was diagnosed with insulin resistance – then I got lazy… Now I full intend to try again… Its so much better!

  2. The mister August 6, 2010 at 10:35 #

    Very not me.

    • Lizanne August 6, 2010 at 10:55 #

      I know – note how I said me and baby not the whole family… You’re my big sugar monster… haha… But I still love you

Leave a Reply

