Pregnancy Update: Week 25

2 Sep

“Your little grower’s physical proportions are evening out at this point and most of their remaining development will largely be weight gain and lots and lots of nervous system development. The good news is: if your child is born premature now they’ll be more likely to survive without too much trauma as their lungs began to produce “surfactant” last week, which means their tiny respiratory system is getting stronger with each passing day. Yes, now’s a good time for a minor sigh of relief and a quick pat on the back. All that hard work and conscientious living is really getting your child prepared for a healthy delivery. Keep up the fabulous work mama! This week they’ll be scootching slowly out of the old breech position and start rotating (already!) into a better position for exit during their birth. Their head and feet are slowly rotating so that the head is pointed down towards the birth canal. Time is short (or really long, depending on who you ask)—just (still!) 14 weeks left before you can go back to being a single-resident human.” source

This little boy is a real busy busy boy, which is helpful to my sanity… as it gives me peace of mind. I had a minor freak out when I thought something was wrong as he was not really moving much for a day or two. This led to me chowing down a chocolate slab in order to coerce li’l mister to get a-moving. Luckily this worked, and now he’s back to his wriggling self.

I am starting to feel more tired now than I have the last month or so, but luckily my husband is a tad more understanding, and since I am home, I do get a chance to take naps and stuff. My biggest issue with sleep is trying to force myself to lie on my side, I usually sleep on my stomach, but since I can’t, my body automatically turns me from my side to my back, which is also very dangerous (something about the uterus pressuring the vena cava and blocking baby’s oxygen supply).

But all in all, I have no complaints, I think I have an easy pregnancy so far, praise the Lord! Now I just need to kick myself into gear to finish Elijah’s room… because, with being tired, I get to half the things, and then things like tidying that room come last (its easier to just close the door…)

2 Responses to “Pregnancy Update: Week 25”

  1. Taryn September 2, 2010 at 15:56 #

    just an aside – apparently it is very rare for complications to occur from sleeping on your back. My midwife told me, that while it’s wise to err on the side of caution, in reality if you block off the supply, you’ll feel it long before it’s a danger to baby. Your body will wake you or cause you to move and turn over. I, like you, ended up on my back most nights. But with everything so uncomfortable anyway, one tends to move a lot too. Anyway – hope that gives you peace of mind 🙂 Start on your side; don’t stress if you don’t stay there 🙂

    • Lizanne September 2, 2010 at 16:04 #

      Thanks, Taryn, thats very helpful. I was a bit concerned. It helps to voice these things it seems… But yeah, I wake up almost every hour anyway, and then I move, so I guess its not so bad. Thanks for the reassurance though. And for reading my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

