Why I am a Stay At Home Mom

3 Sep

source

I guess I always knew I would stay home with my kids, my mom did it and it only seemed right. My reasoning originally was that its cruel to have kids and drop them off at a day care to be looked after by strangers. But after much research, prayer, talking to other moms and listening to Pastor Mark Driscoll, we have been convinced and convicted that this is what God wants us to do.

“Then they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.”
Titus 2:4-5

As women, we are called to the ministry and job of raising and teaching our kids and making a home for our families as well as being helpers to our husbands. Just as men are called to lead and be the providers, we are called to be home makers. The Proverbs 31 woman (considered the model of a godly woman) is said to be called blessed by her husband and children, as she provides food, clothing, a clean and organised home and many other things. An interesting thing though, she does not necessarily provide nothing financially, she “works” from home (vs 16 and 24):

“She considers a field and buys it;
out of her earnings she plants a vineyard”

“She makes linen garments and sells them,
and supplies the merchants with sashes.”

So there’s nothing stopping women from “working” but just from home. I must be honest that’s something I plan to do, with my make up and some crafts and sewing but I have yet to really get stuck in it (at 6 months pregnant though, its a bit harder than I though it would be to start a business up).

I will add now that if you have NO other option, like if you’re the sole bread winner or something (other than his own heart) is preventing your husband from being the provider, then of course, you have to work. But then if you can work from home at least mostly, then do it. I know I must seem mad, but Chris and I just said, there is NO way that we can hand our kids to someone else to raise, and then still pay for formula and nappies and day care and the extra medical bills that come with kid being in creche. There was no question, we have prayed about it, and the Lord has provided. You’d be amazed at how He provides when you let Him. This is our first month without my salary, but we have more than enough money to make it through. Yes, our budget got a bit cut, but all in all its worth it; Chris gets decent supper, and lunch, and I am not so tired that I can’t talk to him or spend time with him at night, so he can relax too. The house is clean, and I am way more relaxed and have time to make things for the house and baby, which in turn saves us A LOT of money. Its really worth checking what you would be able to save on, or live without when you don’t work. We save tons on petrol now as I don’t travel to work, and we save on “junk food” because I can make lunch and supper everyday. We don’t need a maid, as I do it. I don’t need to buy bedding, clothes and accessories for Elijah, because I am home to make all that stuff. The list goes on.

I’m not saying everyone can do this, but I do feel, as we’re called to be homemakers and mothers, its definitely the best to pray and think about it… and do all the sums you can, and TRUST THE LORD.

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life.
Matthew 6:25-27

In closing, I want to urge you to check out some other SAHM’s blogs and learn from them, yes they are mostly in America, but one or two are South African. The basic principles remain the same, God called us to be workers at home.

Lindsay Edmonds – Passionate Homemaking
Stephanie Langford – Keeper of the Home
Taryn Hayes – Hayes Happenings
Rachel Boreing – Frugal and Simple
Sarah Mae – Like A Warm Cup Of Coffee

Check my blogroll for some more 🙂

2 Responses to “Why I am a Stay At Home Mom”

  1. Rachel October 27, 2010 at 05:31 #

    Being a stay at home mom is wonderful! I love staying home with my son!

    Congrats on the upcoming arrival of your little one, motherhood is an amazing thing!

    Thanks for linking to my blog! 🙂

    • Lizanne October 27, 2010 at 08:37 #

      Thanks for the comment, Rachel! I love your blog and I love all your ideas… I am struggling to get everyone on the same page with frugality, but baby steps I guess is best.

Leave a Reply

