Pregnancy Update: 32 weeks

21 Oct

I love this shirt - I got it from our antenatal nurse, a very good friend.

Only 8 weeks to go, and I am feeling the 3rd trimester fatigue… and oh am I feeling the summer heat!! But all in all I am blessed with a fairly easy pregnancy. Elijah is super active almost all day, and I get rib-kicked frequently. But at least he’s moving a lot, so I’m not worried. I must say I am so so so keen to meet him, I am wishing the next few weeks away!

There is still a bit to be done… The cot has now been sanded and varnished, now it just needs to be assembled and we need to buy a mattress (which is harder to find and more expensive than I thought). Luckily I have found a pattern for button up PJs and also bought a pair at Edgars, so I should theoretically be all sorted for in hospital. At the end of this month I will buy the last few odds and ends for hospital and get to making some more premixes and freezer meals, so Chris doesn’t starve while I am in hospital. I can’t believe we’re almost there, I’m really in two minds, I love being pregnant, but also so super keen on meeting this little boy. Maybe we’ll go for number two sooner (JUST KIDDING EVERYONE!!).

Ups and downs. Your acrobat may be standing on his head now: most babies settle in the head-down, or vertex, position by this week. Ideally, he’ll stay put until you give birth. But remember, your little one has a mind of his own-he might decide to change positions several times before he’s born. You might feel him jostling into place as he flips, especially if he does so late in your pregnancy.
As full as it gets. The amount of amniotic fluid in your uterus right now-about one and a half litres-makes it fairly easy for your baby to switch from head up to head down. Over the next eight weeks, the amount of fluid will decrease as the amount of baby increases.
Measuring up. Your baby weighs between 1.5 to nearly 2 Kg (about 3 to 4.5 pounds) and measures about 45 cm (about 18 inches) stretched out.

Let the ribbing begin. Ouch! As it gets more crowded in your belly, you may feel your baby’s toes or elbows poking you in the ribs. It’s not as fun to play “guess the body part” when said part is wedged up under your rib cage. Try lying on your side or changing positions to coax her into moving.

Two left feet. Are you feeling clumsy these days? Your shifting centre of gravity, along with your loosened joints, can make for a lot of bumping into tables and tripping over your own toes. There’s not much you can do about this, except to wear flat shoes and slow down.

Pampers

2 Responses to “Pregnancy Update: 32 weeks”

  1. Mr Pitt October 21, 2010 at 12:11 #

    I think you just write such things to test whether I read your blog… 😛

    • Lizanne October 21, 2010 at 13:54 #

      Haha – maybe I do 😉

Leave a Reply

