Baby-Body

9 Nov

image source

I might get my pre-baby weight back — I have no idea, we’ll see — but the landscape has changed now. What’s stretched will probably not unstretch, my A-cup breasts (which are currently a C-cup) are not going to be as perky unless I surgically encourage them, my hips despite my small frame will probably never be quite as narrow, and my ass, frankly, looks like a road map. That may fade, but it’s not going to disappear. I have cellulite now. The body I had before motherhood is not going to be the body I have after motherhood, and that’s okay. IT’S ALL OKAY!

I, with the help of the man I love more than anything, AM MAKING A BABY. A little person who will talk and grow and learn and have opinions and wear questionable outfits and get dirty and fall off her bike, who will have friends and sleepovers and good days and bad days, who is already making me happier than I can even describe and will also probably drive me crazy, who will read books and knock things over, who will want and need and like and dislike things.

The idea of a daughter is approximately one million times more exciting than the idea of having my “pre-baby body” forever, and I have nothing but respect for what will be my post-baby body. My body was awesome before, my body is awesome now, and my body will be awesome after I give birth.

I just read the above in this post, and found it most encouraging actually. Nice to know I’m not alone 🙂

2 Responses to “Baby-Body”

  1. Leanne Preuss November 20, 2010 at 10:26 #

    Hey, Lizanne

    I read your blog every now and then and I really liked this post. Thanks for adding it – very encouraging I must say. Can’t believe how good you’re looking in the pregnancy. All the best for the next few weeks before Elijah is born. He and Jemma (our baby – currently 26 weeks) will only be a few months apart in age.

    Leanne

    • Lizanne November 20, 2010 at 21:08 #

      Thanks for the comment Leanne 🙂 Yeah, I thought this post was helpful. Thanks, I must say even if I feel good, I feel huge!! Haha! 4 weeks to go, so exciting times ahead! Pretty name you guys have chosen for your baby! Hope you’re having a great pregnancy!!

Leave a Reply

