It’s been 3 years

30 Nov

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness”
Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens

I thought that intro would catch attention… In truth that I think sums up many people’s marriages… And its not meant badly at all, its just the honestly the way things work when you throw 2 sinful people, from different backgrounds, different genders and different temperaments together forever.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We’ve now been married for 3 years – If I had to say, this 3rd year was so far the best, in terms of understanding one another better, and being more loving. Of course the fact that I have been pregnant for 9 months of it, does add to the challenges of this year. I know that the first 2 years were a BIG adjustment, and even though we are still tweaking things here and there, we seem to be okay. The thing that changed things the most for me, was when Chris saw Mark Driscoll and got into his preaching, and learning, and understanding how to be a godly husband. This triggered the desire in me to change and be the real godly wife that I need to be. I am far from it… but aren’t we all just works in progress?

That said, I would like to take a few minutes, even though I am not usually sappy and all, to say a few things to my husband.

– An extract from my wedding speech:

“You are my rock, my leader, my love. Thank you for the past 3 and a half years (now 6 and a half years) and may our marriage be all the more AMAZING. I thank the Lord for giving me you to love, and I pray He will always be the centre of our marriage. I love you to infinity.”

– You are a funny, yet serious guy, who tries so hard to make me laugh even when I am grumpy, by tickling me (which you know makes me mad, but I love you for).
– To paraphrase from 500 Days of Summer: You’re not my dream guy, you’re something better, you’re real.
– We’re polar opposites. You’re quiet, contemplative, “rustig”, a homebody, happy to relax on the couch and be by yourself. I’m talkative, feisty, impulsive, I like seeing people and I like doing things away from home. And yet – we still love each other.
– You put up with my OCD tendencies towards the house, and humour me when I freak out about small things.
– I love how excited you get about computer projects that you come up with, I am so proud of how hard you work.
– You have been so supportive of me during this pregnancy, helping me set up the room, letting me rest when I need it and coming to antenatal classes with me. I am sure you’re going to be the funnest, coolest dad ever.
– I look forward to many more years spent getting to know you and growing together under God.

I know you little, I love you lots,
my love for you could fill ten pots,
fifteen buckets, sixteen cans,
three teacups, and four dishpans

Shel Silverstein

7 Responses to “It’s been 3 years”

  1. Mr Pitt November 30, 2010 at 09:15 #

    You make me happy… 🙂

  2. Lizanne November 30, 2010 at 09:19 #

    So glad to hear that 🙂

  3. irene November 30, 2010 at 09:58 #

    I can seriously see all of this from just one photo shoot. happy 3 years guys!

    • Lizanne November 30, 2010 at 10:05 #

      Aaaah… Thanks Irene 🙂 very sweet of you

  4. Colleen December 5, 2010 at 15:12 #

    Wonderful stuff…congratulations to you both. And may God always be that strong cord that binds you together in love. Hugs xxx

  5. Colleen December 5, 2010 at 15:13 #

    PS forgot to ask…how do you do that little slideshow? What program did you use? I need to do something like that on my conference blog. Thanx xx

    • Lizanne December 5, 2010 at 15:25 #

      Its actually the slideshow that wordpress automatically makes when you upload pics in a slideshow 🙂

Leave a Reply

