Pregnancy Update: 38 weeks

2 Dec

Apparently Elijah is the size of a watermelon…

I don’t look like a swallowed a very big watermelon though…

I have a few confessions, I had the best intentions to do things the “right” way in my pregnancy, but seem to have failed. I have not been drinking my raspberry leaf tea as religiously as I should have, which is only to my own detriment. I have not been taking it easy as I should… and I have still not totally finished the baby room, and all the things I wanted to make for him. Not to mention the fact that I consumed more sugar during this time than ever before… so the healthy eating is a loss. Then there’s the fact that I was supposed to write letters to this boy often, which I neglected. I also have yet to make my other PJs for hospital… one pair is apparently no where near enough for 2-3 days in hospital. FAIL!

I was at the gynae for my 38 week check up today… and Elijah has not yet dropped. This apparently can be because of a) his head being big or b) my pelvis being a funny shape. I think in my case its a combo of both… oh joy! So doctor has now said that next week when I go for my next appointment, we will make a final decision, but all things are pointing to a c-section… an elective one. Doctor says that if I was to try normal labour and Eli gets stuck, and we are forced to do an emergency c-section, it will be more stressful and traumatic than just being prepared in advance. I am not literally living on prayer and faith, that God’s will will be done in this case. I just want Eli to be healthy….

Your baby is fully developed and can do everything a newborn is expected to, though still gaining fat and adding connections between the neurons in her brain.

How your babyโ€™s growing: By full term your little one’s lungs will be mature enough to breathe air, his brain cells will be highly organised and he will have excellent hearing. His vision isn’t great, but is developed enough to focus on your face the first time that you breastfeed him.

How you may be feeling: You may be feeling an intense urge to “nest” lately, eager to arrange everything from your baby’s nursery to the contents of your fridge. While this is Mother Nature’s way of kicking your maternal instincts into high gear, try to resist expending energy on redecorating or cleaning – you’ll need all your strength for labour and delivery.

Tip of the week Even if you are counting on giving birth naturally, you should still anticipate the possibility of having a Caesarean so that you are mentally and physically prepared if it happens. About two in three babies in the private sector are born via C-section and not all of them are elective. Whether your C-section is scheduled or required at the last moment, knowing how to prepare for and “personalise” it can make the surgery less traumatic emotionally and physically and help to speed recovery. Many women worry that surgery will require them to be separated from their newborn. Yet, unless the baby or mother needs immediate medical treatment, most hospitals will accommodate parents’ expressed wishes for early bonding opportunities.

Your Parenting

2 Responses to “Pregnancy Update: 38 weeks”

  1. Taryn December 2, 2010 at 16:23 #

    ooh! very exciting times!

    Some more unsolicited advice ๐Ÿ˜‰ … don’t worry about pjs too much. I bought beautiful fancy long, button down pjs for my first one. I was so HOT. I ended up wearing old t-shirts and my husband’s boxers. That was FAR better. Hospitals are hot hot hot. You’re going to be hot hot hot, cos of that milk making factory working 24-7 (you may even find you perspire like nothing before just on the top half of your torso!!). And, quite frankly, button down was more exposing and awkward for me than a big t-shirt which was easy to pull up and down for feeds.

    Hope it goes well!

    Here ends the unsolicited advice ๐Ÿ™‚ as per previous time – feel free to delete and ignore ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lizanne December 2, 2010 at 16:27 #

      Thanks for the advice Taryn! Its all good ๐Ÿ™‚ I kind of figured that the PJs thing might be a minor issue… I think support tops and tshirts might be a better idea anyway, like you said for covering up… not too keen on being that exposed!

Leave a Reply

