1 month

10 Jan

I can’t believe its been a whole month since Elijah’s birth! He has grown so much 🙂 He is very cute, and pulls the funniest faces…mostly in his sleep. I didn’t know babies were such noisy sleepers! Oh my goodness! But he has been such a joy in our lives in this short time.

He loves his daddy, and seems to get calmer when Chris holds him, generally anyway (if he’s not starving). He also loves his bouncy chair, it vibrates which seems to soothe him, for a short time anyway. One thing he does not like is being still, he has to be moving, either in a pouch, or pram or when you carry him. He also seems to hate having his nappy changed, but tends to calm down when you put his burpcloth on his chest when you do. Very peculiar quirk…

He’s a very thirsty little man, and tends to drink alot more when its hot, and at night his feeds go from 2 hourly to about 3 hourly, he wakes himself. I think he is still a bit confused between day and night, but at least he goes back to sleep after feeds now, only if he’s not jolted awake by being taken into bright light and busy rooms.

I have decided to do photos of him every month, to see how well he’s grown, and how he changes. So here is month one:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have adjusted fairly well to motherhood, it has its challenges, but I have managed to figure out how to do my daily tasks with him in a sling or a pouch (I totally advocate babywearing!). My caesar wound has healed well on the outside, I am sure the inside has healed fairly well but until I get the final ok from my doctor, I will still take it fairly easy. Just basic chores and things. I must say I cannot wait to be allowed to drive again and be able to do all the things I used to do, especially exercising. My tummy has shrunk back well, but now I need to tone these muscles so that I can have a flatter tummy… I think breastfeeding really does help for weight loss. This is probably also helped on by the fact that I cannot eat chocolate without giving Elijah really bad cramps. In total I have lost 12kg’s since the birth, so I am pretty amped to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight and be able to wear my nice jeans and dresses. Then of course I have a bunch more weight which has to go, but it will go with time and exercise.

All in all its been a challenging month, but I am grateful to God for the opportunity to be a mom and to be blessed with such a precious little life.

3 Responses to “1 month”

  1. emeliasmomsboutique January 10, 2011 at 21:53 #

    He is soo adorable!!! Yes take pictures every monthm even if you don’t get them up just date them, so you can look back on the changes. I just did this on my blog, my little girl is 10 months.

  2. Linnie Lues January 11, 2011 at 23:16 #

    Oh Lizanne, your baby is beautiful!!!
    Well done on the 12kg!!!

  3. Jayasri January 12, 2011 at 04:27 #

    Precious little boy. God bless.

Leave a Reply

