Chucking out the disposables

1 Feb

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is a list of things I found on Crunchy Domestic Goddess. In my efforts to go more green I have slowly been trying to get rid of more and more disposable things and replacing them with reusable items. This is me so far…

Paper napkins to cloth napkins – we barely use napkins, but I want to sew some the minute I get time and material.
Paper towels to cloth towels – CHECK – I stopped buying paper towel so long ago… just use lappies and cloth towels now.
Tissues to handkerchiefs – this one could be hard, as I am not the main user of tissues and I think giving Chris a hanky might not go down so well… But I will with Elijah
Paper, plastic or Styrofoam plates to your kitchen plates – CHECK – stopped buying paper plates too, although I must admit when you have more people than plates, I have been knows to get some… will buy more kitchen plates…
Disposable utensils to regular silverware – CHECK – never used them, and the ones we get with take out, I wash and use again anyway.
If you order food “to go” or have food to take home from a restaurant, bring your own container rather than accepting Styrofoam or plastic – never thought of this, but will see if I remember to do this, although it seems a bit too odd, so I may concede on this one.
Inexpensive plastic “Take & Toss” sippy cups to Thermos or Camelbak bottles or the Klean Kanteen – CHECK – we have thermal mugs and sippy cups which we use when we need.
Disposable water bottles to (again) reusable bottles like Thermos, Klean Kanteen or Camelbak – CHECK – I try to use glass bottles, the only times I have plastic bottles is when I went to the shop and forgot my water.
Plastic sandwich bags or paper lunch bags to reusable containers/bags – CHECK – I reuse ziplock bags to infinity… and I give Chris his lunch in a reusable plastic container.
Plastic straws to glass or stainless steel straws – I have NO idea where to get either of those, but we never use straws except when we get take out.
Swiffers (or similar products) to a broom and dustpan or mop (or use reusable cloths like cloth diapers/terry inserts in your Swiffer) – no clue what this is, but all my cleaning equipment are reusable cloths. Some are even old tops and pants that I cut up.
Disposable dust rags to cloth rags – CHECK – as per above
Disposable diapers to cloth diapers – This is a process, as Elijah has skinny legs, so his cloth diapers leaked something nasty… I was not about to let me baby go about in leaky pants, whoever’s lap he sits on would have poo left on it. NOT COOL! So I am slowly getting into it, they are fitting better now, but I only have 6 shaped ones, and the towelling ones are difficult to fit on, will work it out still.
Disposable wipes to cloth wipes (inexpensive plain washcloths work really well) – Another process, using facecloths for wipes, but I still use wipes when we go out, and to wipe the worst poo off…
Disposable feminine products (tampons, pads) to reusables like DivaCup, MoonCup, among others. You can even make your own pads. – um… yeah… will just skip this for now…
Grocery store bags to reusable bags – CHECK – I only buy plastic when I forget my reusables, which seldom happens now.
Disposable wrapping paper or gift bags to reusable cloth gift bags – I reuse wrapping and gift bags… so I don’t see it as a total waste yet, I never buy them really.
Single-use batteries to rechargeable batteries – CHECK – we bought a charger and batteries a while back, they are awesome. The only thing is the BIG batteries can’t be charged in our charger, so we still have to buy those.

Where have you cut on disposables?

One Response to “Chucking out the disposables”

  1. Taryn February 3, 2011 at 07:27 #

    Great list. When you’re ready to face the diva cup thing may I recommend it whole heartedly? It has completely revolutionized that time of month for me on all levels: expense, mess, discomfort, leaking … No more! You can read about it and the South African version here: http://www.hayesfamily.co.za/blog/?tag=mpower-cup. 🙂 you’re welcome to mail me with questions too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

