In response to those who criticize new moms

28 Feb

I was reading Fat Mum Slim this morning, and this post just totally made my day. People are SO quick to judge moms with babies and crit us for things. I saw peoples faces in Mugg and Bean yesterday when Elijah was crying non-stop because he was over-tired and refused to sleep, one old lady had this look on her face as if to say “She has no idea what she’s doing, and why is she even in public”. Now, I have never fed my son in public, but should I need to, I damn well will, its natural, and for heavens sake, the child needs to be fed.

3 Responses to “In response to those who criticize new moms”

  1. scaredmom February 28, 2011 at 16:16 #

    Just a couple of pointers. The look on that womens face does not mean why does she have a child, she does not know what she is doing. or she was anoyed with the baby. lol

    Now on the subject of breast feeding in public, I dont have a problem with it, but if you need to feed your child, feed them. Some mothers just dont care about other poeple and what they see and dont see. I hate being in a restuarant and the women across from me pulls out her bood (not even trying to cover up) and feed the child (still not covered up.) The worst i’ve see was a mother sitting in the spur with a child about 2 letting her lift her top and play with her nipple. i was not hungry after that.

    • Lizanne February 28, 2011 at 16:22 #

      I’m not sure what you mean with your first sentence… you should have seen the lady I am talking about then you’ll get my point.

      I agree, being weird like the Spur woman is tacky, but I mean the basic act of feeding your child, its not wrong, yes, discreetly would be helpful. But at the end of the day, society is okay with ridiculously low-cut tops which leave little to the imagination, or even basically see-through tops, heck, we even have a National Cleavage day, but heaven forbid a woman feeds her child, since thats really what we have breasts for.

  2. scaredmom March 1, 2011 at 07:59 #

    My head was a bit funny yesterday, went over the first sentance now and I not even understand what I meant was: I often see moms with babies like that in the shop and I do a little prayer for that mom as I know shopping and eating needs to be done even if baby is not happy. I meant to say I it might have been a look of I know that feeling and more poor mom than poor baby. but if you say she wasn’t impressed I can believe that as well.

    Breast feeding is awesome take my hat off to any mom who does it as I could never get my head around doing it myself. Thinking back now about the tops I use to wear before I had my kids, not even cool!!!!

    Good luck girl, when you get women like that just smile at them it will make them feel like the bad guy…

Leave a Reply

