Post-Baby Body Thoughts

14 Mar

I’ve never had the perfect figure.

I used to be really thin, in school, when I still did sport. But sadly I did pick up weight slowly after school… losing a ton before the wedding, and picking up more, then losing a whole bunch just before I got pregnant again. While I was pregnant I picked up near on 20 kilograms – which really isn’t so cool, but I enjoyed the chocolates. The thing is, even though I have now lost more than half the weight I gained in pregnancy, my body has changed…

My tummy looks like a roadmap of Cape Town, with the stretch marks. The muscles are weak, there is a huge ugly scar below my belly button. Although my pre-pregnancy clothes fit, they don’t close around my tummy. Its frustrating, and sometimes I get crazy with envy when I walk past the fit, slim girls who have no kids, in their tight jeans.

Then I look at my son.

For nine months he grew inside me, he was nurtured by my body. He grew and grew, and stretched my skin, growing into a kicking little person. They had to cut him out, leaving a forever reminder. Now he’s fed by my body, he’s grown into this beautiful 3 month old little boy, a strong little boy. My body has worked hard, its stretched and pulled and been cut for this little miracle.

Yes, I have weight to lose, from before I was pregnant even. I will never have a flat smooth stomach, I will not be able to wear a bikini in public (not that I really would, modesty and all). But what I have to show for it, is something way more precious, way more beautiful, way more lasting than a perfect body.

I wouldn’t change my body for the world… and its taken me 24 years to realise that.

5 Responses to “Post-Baby Body Thoughts”

  1. Chris March 14, 2011 at 10:56 #

    I am so proud of you and our little family. πŸ™‚

  2. Lizanne March 14, 2011 at 11:18 #

    Irene Kim via Facebook: beautiful blogpost friend! really enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  3. kerry March 21, 2011 at 09:27 #

    I have the same stretch marks, my friend and they only got worse with each pregnancy. As i’ve thought about the loss of eth body I one had, I’m grateful to God that He will give me a new body. That this body was always going to die and decay and that the sooner I accept that, the happier I’ll be. And it’s also good to reflect on the fact that while outwardly I decay more and more, inwardly I really am being renewed. God is making me more like Jesus. (Despite the insane quantity of sin I battle with all the time.)

    I am inwardly more and more glorious but my outer body will never show this amazing truth. But one day it will be revealed. On that day I will get a body that matches the glorious person that I have become through Jesus. Can’t wait for that day. I long for that day.

    • Lizanne March 22, 2011 at 17:54 #

      Such true words, Kerry! I am also glad that one day we will have new bodies πŸ™‚ no more stretchmarks or scars! But till then at least they are worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

